Anime Season Preview Winter 2018

Updated: Jul 1, 2018

Top 10 Upcoming Releases


I haven't written up one of these since...this time last winter. (sorry) But since then I've been off of seasonal anime. 


However, turns out this winter 2018 season has quite a few releases that caught my eye.  As always, I don't expect to watch all ten of these shows this season.  I will write up some reviews of the anime I do watch in future posts.


My only solid goal for this season is to not end up watching the anime about girls who love ramen (Ramen Daisuki Koizumi-san), as it will unhelpfully make me crave ramen the entire time.


10. Seven Deadly Sins, Season 2


Premiere: January 13, 2018

Studio: A-1 Pictures

Genre: Shounen, Fantasy, Action


I usually try not to clog this recommendations list with season two's of a show, but c'mon -- you've probably watched season one of The Seven Deadly Sins. 


And if you haven't, Shame on you!  I even reviewed it!


I do recommend it.  The story features a cast of unlikely heroes saving the day, as they struggle to get the gang back together.  Their Wanted Posters plaster the Kingdom, blacklisting them as the enemy.  Each of the sins isn't who you would expect them to be.


It's quite fun.  Even if you are not a shounen fan, this anime has something for everyone.  Adventure.  Comedy.  Mystery.  Drama.  Romance. 


This season, titled Revival of the Commandments, will feature a larger cast. I'm not reading the manga, so the new arc will be totally new to me.


https://myanimelist.net/anime/34577/Nanatsu_no_Taizai__Imashime_no_Fukkatsu 



9. Miira no Kaikata


Premiere: January 12, 2018

Studio: 8bit

Genre: Supernatural, Comedy, Slice of Life


How to Keep a Mummy.  High-schooler Sora Kashiwagi receives a tiny mummy from his father who is abroad adventuring. 


The little mummy appears to be cute and helpless & will need to acclimate to his new life as a pet.  While Sora will learn how to balance school with taking care of his new friend, since the two cannot be separated. Sora's friends also appear to have odd chibi pets. 


Why does this show look like Digimon?  Does the main character Sora remind you of another famous Sora? 


This manga series is decently popular, so I might check this anime out.


https://myanimelist.net/anime/35828/Miira_no_Kaikata



8. Sanrio Danshi


Premiere: January 6, 2018

Studio: Studio Pierrot

Genre: School, Shoujo


Sanrio Boys is a huge gimmick.  Boys who love the Sanrio characters, and should be proud.  But I'm here for it.  It's adorable. 


The phone game is cute, even though I don't play it.  The boys are cute.  The manga is cute (I own two volumes).  The merch is cute...yeah that's about it.  It's doing exactly what it was intended to do & I've been waiting for this anime release since it was first announced last year -- so I'm part of the problem.


There are apparently two manga series' out for Sanrio Boys.  The one I own includes a heroine who becomes the romantic interest.  However, it appears this anime adaptation will not feature the heroine plot.


Originally, news about the series stated it would only be an anime short.  At this time I can not confirm that.  We'll have to watch and find out.


https://myanimelist.net/anime/34839/Sanrio_Danshi 



7. Touken Ranbu Hanamaru, Season 2


Premiere: January 8, 2018

Studio: Doga Kobo

Genre: Slice of Life, Comedy, Action, History


I'm sorry!  I did it again. 


This time, I'll admit that I cannot recommend this series to everyone.  It is based on a phone game series where the swords of famous Japanese heroes are personified as heroes themselves and sent into battles with the evil force that is trying to rewrite history.


However, much of season one of this anime was actually a slice of life.  Focus was on the swords arriving, their new feelings as humans, or lack there of.  How they related to one another, and their pasts, to form a new life living on a rural compound of some sort.


Really.  I'm serious.  They feed the farm animals, and view the cherry blossoms, and spend too much money at the local store.  They make soup for dinner.  And drink tea on the veranda.  Oh wait, they do also go into battle, like -- a few times.


So... if you enjoy the flip side of "Cute Girls Doing Cute Things Anime" -- which is apparently "Swords Who Recently Became Cute Boys and Do Cute Things but Also Definitely Still Cut Stuff Anime" this is for you!


https://myanimelist.net/anime/34863/Touken_Ranbu__Hanamaru_2 



6. Dame X Prince Anime Caravan


Premiere: January 10, 2018

Studio: Studio Flad

Genre: Romance, Adventure


Ani, Princess of a minor fantasy nation, is trying to bring peace through the steering of a signing ceremony.  Unfortunately, she is in the presence of a bunch of stubborn princes.


What!?  An otome protagonist with an actual job other than being the otome protag?  This might have potential. 


The character designs are really flamboyant, so maybe it will be funny too?  MAL states that its "adventure" genre, are we going on a road trip? 


I might regret watching this, but I am a sucker for otome games.  Here's to hoping this one is more like Kamigami no Asobi (2013), more like Hakuouki (2010), and less like Amnesia (2013), Brother's Conflict (2013), & Dance with Devils (2015).


https://myanimelist.net/anime/35988/Dame_x_Prince_Anime_Caravan



5. Citrus


Premiere: January 6, 2018

Studio: Passione

Genre: Shoujo Ai, Romance, School Drama


Citrus is a hate to love, Girls Love, anime where Yuzu ends up at a new school after her mother remarries.  She clashes with the school president who is overly stern, her total opposite -- oh and her new step-sister.


I would love for this to be a great romance anime, but, as with all romance anime, it might end up totally sucking due to any number of cringe worthy trespasses.  It seems we can expect the step-sister to be hot and cold with Yuzu.  I'm hoping that Yuzu has an actual personality, and manages to stick up for herself.


The style of the series looks great from what is currently available, and the character designs are pretty.


Citrus is based on a manga, which I have not read.


https://myanimelist.net/anime/34382/Citrus 



4. Hakumei to Mikochi


Premiere: January 12, 2018

Studio: Lerche 

Genre: Fantasy, Slice of Life, Seinen


Tiny little garden people living in a tiny little fantasy world.  Based on a delightful episodic manga series full of cute daily life encounters, an adorable alternative world, and standard fantasy tropes.


This is a true "lyashikei" - Japanese for media created to have a soothing effect on the audience.  If you enjoyed the relaxing Restaurant to Another World last season, perhaps you should check this one out.


I don't remember when I first came across this manga series, but I instantly thought it was adorable, and then wondered why there was no anime for it.  Well, no need to wonder any longer.   


https://myanimelist.net/anime/36094/Hakumei_to_Mikochi 

http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Manga/HakumeiAndMikochi?from=Manga.HakumeitoMikochi



3. Uchuu Yori Tooi Basho


Premiere: January 2018

Studio: Madhouse

Genre: Adventure


A Place Further than the Universe.  High school girls are off to Antarctica! 


I love anime that presents our natural landscape as a character, treating the world we live in with the sense of wonder it deserves.  I can't wait to see what this anime does with Antarctica.  Snow banks, ice caps, starry skies, aurora australis.


Other than that I have no idea what to expect.  Are these high school girls in a science club?  Environmentalists?  Or is this an oddly ambitious school trip?


This is an anime original story, so we'll have to watch and see.


2. Sayonara no Asa ni Yukusoku no Hana wo Kazarou


Premiere: February 28, 2018

Studio: P.A. Works

Genre:  Fantasy, War, Drama


Let's Decorate the Promised Flowers in the Farewell Morning.  This original anime movie will explore first meetings, love, and loss, -- and probably make us all cry our little baby eyes out.


The animation is an interesting mix of CG, sketch-like outlines, and simple faces.  In this way it reminds me of The Tale of Princess Kaguya (2014) meets Granblue Fantasy the Animation (2017).


In this fantasy world the Iolph people, blessed with long lives and youthful looks, live in peace until the day they are invaded.  War shatters families, hopes, and dreams, as people are separated.  Whether it be friends, new loves, or a young baby from it's parents.  This story sounds heartbreaking, pensively beautiful, and cathartic. 


It is the directorial debut of Mari Okada (Anohana: The Flower We Saw That Day, The Anthem of the Heart, Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans)


https://myanimelist.net/anime/35851/Sayonara_no_Asa_ni_Yakusoku_no_Hana_wo_Kazarou

http://www.crunchyroll.com/anime-news/2017/12/14-1/sayonara-no-asa-ni-yakusoku-no-hana-wo-kazarou-anime-film-releases-full-trailer-main-poster-visual


1. Yuru Camp


Premiere: January 4, 2018

Studio: C- Station

Genre: Slice of Life, Comedy, Nature


Because I am me, the anime that I am most hyped about this season isn't the return of a fan favorite, isn't the new romance entry, or possibly one of the best looking anime movies ever made....nope.  I am super hype about "Laid-back Camp" -- which is a slice of life about friends who love the great outdoors.


It's even marketed as a "slow outdoor manga", but I literally love this stuff.  I am hoping for a relaxing, funny story, surrounded by beautiful scenery to escape into.


The story follows a girl who enjoys camping by herself meeting friend who enjoys biking by herself, and from there they start enjoying nature together!  Eventually they find themselves with a group of friends.


The series is based on a manga of the same title.


Yes...I am hoping it has a similar atmosphere to Non Non Biyori. Please don't crush my dreams Yuru Camp!


https://myanimelist.net/anime/34798/Yuru_Camp%E2%96%B3


What will you be watching for the Winter 2018 season.  Let me know!


Thanks for reading!

Amanda 



Header made on canva.com

Images included to identify & promote each anime do not belong to me.

I intend to use official promotional images & screenshots. If I used your personal work & you want it removed, please contact me.

Copyright ⓒ  2018-2020 Amanda Vaughan